Mary Campisi
Mary Campisi
Mary Campisi

The Story behind The Butterfly Garden: That Second Chance Series Book 6: siblings, pecking order, and finding your true self

Siblings? Pecking order? Finding your true self? Oh, this was an easy piece to write…

I am the third child in a family of four—two older brothers and a younger sister, all born in less than six years. Our family wasn’t wealthy, as a matter of fact, we were much less than wealthy, though we never knew it. We thought sharing a bed was normal, and a bathroom, and a closet, and clothes…as for entertainment, well, there was only one mother in the neighborhood who had a car and it wasn’t for carting kids around to play dates.

We spent our early childhood playing and working together, and of course, as siblings do, complained the oldest got favored and the youngest got spoiled, and the two of us in the middle got all the work. Even today, we think there’s a grain of truth in that, though our mother insists we were all treated the same. Any middle child will tell you that is doubtful!

And so, The Butterfly Garden: That Second Chance Series Book 6 is especially important to me because it delves into sibling relationships and family hierarchy as children and as adults. It also deals with metamorphosis on various levels and an eventual letting go…of old beliefs, habits, rituals. Just as the butterfly sheds its cocoon to emerge in dazzling splendor, so too, if given proper nurturing and guidance, do we.

I am so very grateful for my brothers and sister. Through the years we have leaned on one another, never more than a phone call away, listened with great empathy, advised with caution, accepted our differences, and above all, loved one another. That is indeed a cherished gift.
I hope you enjoy Jenny and Grace’s journey as they discover each other and themselves and learn that love often arrives at unexpected times and in unexpected packages.

So, do you have siblings? Are you the oldest, youngest, or smack in the middle? And do you find when you are with your siblings, you revert back to the ‘pecking’ order? I’d love to hear your story, so feel free to share.

I couldn’t resist adding the picture of me and my siblings…I’m in the poofy striped dress…check out the boys’ shorts…I did get permission from my siblings before posting this!

Here’s the description for The Butterfly Garden…

It’s all about that second chance…The Butterfly Garden is Book Six of That Second Chance Series. (These are stand-alone stories tied together by a common theme— belief in the beauty of that second chance.)

Sometimes love happens when you least expect it…

Jenny Romano has never been a white-picket-fence, happily-ever-after girl. Despite a mother who rejected her free-spirited, unique ways as irresponsible and just plain wrong, Jenny has found happiness as a photographer, flitting around the country and snapping photos of other people’s lives. Her older sister, Grace, has a husband, children, and a carpool schedule. She’s the one their mother calls “perfect.”

But when tragedy strikes her sister’s carefully constructed life, Jenny must step in and offer support. Soon, she finds herself in the sort of small-town suburban life she swore to avoid…
Psychologist Elliot Drake spends so much time healing other people’s pain and witnessing the backlash of caring too deeply that he prefers to keep his own relationships short and bittersweet. He’s loved and lost once and with a young daughter to raise, he’s not willing to risk his heart again. But he’s never met anyone quite like Jenny. Outrageous and unpredictable, she’s a force of nature—not at all like her well-controlled older sister. Suddenly, Elliot isn’t so sure that short term is what he wants…

Taken by surprise and unsure of the next step, Elliot and Jenny are about to discover that real life happens whether you want it to or not. Will they let real love happen, too?

That Second Chance Series
Book One: Pulling Home
Book Two: The Way They Were
Book Three: Simple Riches
Book Four: Paradise Found
Book Five: Not Your Everyday Housewife
Book Six: The Butterfly Garden

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Where to Buy

  • Buy from Apple Books
  • Buy from Amazon
  • Buy from Barnes & Noble
  • Buy from Google Play
  • Buy from Kobo
  • Buy from Audible
Your Cart